The Veiled Purl

All about crocheting, sewing, and knitting.

The Frilltastic Pettiskirt

13 Comments

IMG_20130621_133331_637

For the past few days I have been obsessing over pettiskirts. I l-o-v-e them, and their fluffiness. They are so girly, frilly, and awesome. So, ofcourse I just had to make myself one…following this awesome tutorial. ;)

I used 7 yards of very soft tulle (my store didn’t have nylon chiffon -.-) for the dark blue and cut them into super long strips that were 9 inches wide. This is a looottt of fabric, I mean a lot. So you’re going to have to cut someĀ  a lot of time out for this project. I suggest cutting the 7 yards in half first ‘cuz 7 yards is a lot of fabric to cut all of once, and my floor wasn’t big enough. -le sigh-

Now for the fluffy frillyness I got 4 yards of the same type of tulle and cut ‘em into long strips 2.5″ wide. I also got some satin for the belt. I made mine around 12″ wide…which means in turned out to be around 6″ in the end. All together my skirt is around 24″ long.

IMG_20130619_195531_462

That’s half of the ruffled tulle for the project. It get’s a bit overwhelming, so take your time while doing this.

IMG_20130621_132718_610

Ruffly goodness!

IMG_20130621_132652_603

Pretty ruffles…they kind of look like the ends on jellyfishes :)

IMG_20130621_133036_983

My lovely niece’s birthday is coming up, so I’m defo going to be making her one (and many more). I did, however, make her a “practice” one:

IMG_20130617_201359_857

It’s poofy, but not as poofy as I’d like it to be…well I only had less 3 yards of fabric to work with..(my mom’s dupatta) And since it was the type of chiffon that frayed, I needed to fold over the edges. This was a p.a.i.n. I’m super glad I ordered some non-fray chiffon(aka nylon chiffon) for her birthday.

IMG_20130617_201122_786

She still had/is having loads of fun spinning in it though :)

IMG_20130617_201435_640

That’s all for now, have an awesome day everyone! :)

P.S visit me at my new blog: http://www.crochetpurl.com

Author: Veiled Purl

I love to crochet, sew, and knit! =] My blog is www.crochetpurl.com

13 thoughts on “The Frilltastic Pettiskirt

  1. I can’t imagine handling 7 yards of fabric at once on the cutting floor ( I cut out on the floor). Your petticoat looks great. Looks perfect for twirling in. :)

  2. wow that looks fantastic . My doughter would be thrilled and I bet the brotheres a bit jealous lol

  3. That’s absolutely gorgeous! Now I want to make one. :)

  4. oh what fun, and so girly, can see one of these being added for those spring days here (summer to hot)

    • Yup! Summer is definitely a bit too hot for this. But the good thing is tulle and nylon chiffon is super light and airy so even though there’s a lot of fabric involved, the skirt keeps you pretty cool. (esp. if you keep twirling in it) :)

  5. I remember my mom making a skirt like this for me and my sister when I was small, and I loved it :-)

  6. Pingback: Pettiskirt Goodness | The Veiled Purl

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 230 other followers