The Veiled Purl

All about crocheting, sewing, and knitting.

Hooded Toddler Jacket

7 Comments

I used grey buttons because I couldn't find any others. (and also cuz they look kinda nice)

I used grey buttons because I couldn’t find any others. (and also cuz they look kinda nice)

You know sometimes when you’re eating something really good, and you

The hood looks a bit wonky since it's kind of hard to take a nice pic of it.

The hood looks a bit wonky since it’s kind of hard to take a nice pic of it.

don’t want it to end? I’m eating such an amazing potato salad right now and I keep looking at it because it’s going to finish, so I’m eating it super slowly to savor it. It’s hard to do though, but I shall endeavor to try! Okay moving on, I found this pattern as I was searching for a sweater to make for my niece. It’s different from any other sweater project I’ve ever done because it has many sections. For example, there is the jacket “skirt”, then the middle, left & right bodice pieces, the hood, and the arms (which were also done in 2 parts each). I was honestly going to call it quits because it was a tedious process that involved many loose threads. (I really hate weaving in the extra yarn at the end) >_< The funny thing is, I made it in size 4T (my niece is 2.5 yrs old) and it actually fit her just right. I could have even made the skirt part longer if I wanted to. But, alas it would have been too much work since I already made the button hole rows. If any of you try the pattern, let me know how it goes.

That’s all for now, have a great day everyone! :)

Author: Veiled Purl

I love to crochet, sew, and knit! =]

7 thoughts on “Hooded Toddler Jacket

  1. I like all things hooded hehe but I have yet to take the plunge into making clothes. It seems like I am always working on a hat. You did a great job on this!

  2. I’ve actually been semi-banned from making any more hats. There are so many in my house, it’s insane. ;) Hence my venture into making clothes. It takes a lot of patience, but well worth it. :)

  3. Wow! You are really talented!

  4. I have to agree with you – the sewing in the threads is the WORST part for me too! I got really annoyed a couple of months ago because I decided to make a striped blanket for my granddaughter – I wanted to scream at the number of ends I had to weave! I love this pattern – you did a great job with it. Take care.

    • Thanks :) Loose ends are seriously annoying, but honestly when you see the awesome end results of the project you’ve been working so hard on, it’s worth it. =]

  5. Pingback: Crochet Hooded Toddler Jacket | CrochetPurl

Leave a Reply

