The Veiled Purl

All about crocheting, sewing, and knitting.

Inspired by ModCloth

10 Comments

Firstly, I just made a body form/ mannequin out of duct tape! It was an…interesting experience. You see, I ran out of duct tape while doing the second layer and it ended up looking pretty…ugly. Even though it isn’t very appealing to the eyes, the body form still works perfectly! So, I decided to test it out on a recent outfit I made for my sister.

IMG_20130406_011158_269

My take on the design

This design was inspired by an old design from Modcloth. I didn’t use a pattern, I just sort of drew up how I thought the dress was made and then sewed the dress myself. Truthfully this was an annoying outfit to make. 1) Because I’ve never done anything like it. 2) The neckline was a pain to do.

I had very limited amount of fabric (2.5-3 yards). This meant working around the amount of fabric, instead of focusing on the actual design. This can get pretty frustrating, especially when the design is something new too.

ModCloth outfit

So, I had to make some changes from the original ModCloth outfit. Here is the original=>

Unlike the original, I added less gathers on the top and bottom, and created a box pleated neckline with buttons. I also added a huge belt…which I probably went overboard with. But, I think it works, what say you all?

Here is a close up on the neckline:

IMG_20130406_011207_915

The whole dress:

IMG_20130406_011422_188

I really wanted to make a full pleated dress…but darn I didn’t have enough fabric >__< So it’s not as poofed from the bottom as the original is.

I’d love to make this dress again. There are many hijinks I think I know how to fix now that I’ve made this once. But, I’ll probably have to make this a few times to get it right. Though, I might be willing to do a tutorial on this… let me know if you all would like me to make one.

That’s all for now.

Thanks for reading, and have a great day! =]

Author: Veiled Purl

I love to crochet, sew, and knit! =]

10 thoughts on “Inspired by ModCloth

  1. I love this outfit, would u be able to share the steps you followed to make this please, insha Allaah?
    – Um Muhammad

  2. It’s beautiful!
    Unrelated but I nominated you for a Leibster blog award :) http://crazycrochetmama.wordpress.com/2013/04/08/liebster-blog-award/

  3. beautiful :)

  4. This has turned out really well; love the style and the fabric! I’m intrigued by the idea of using duct tape to make a body form – never heard of that before … how did you do it? =D

  5. Pingback: ModCloth Inspired Dress: A Free Sewing Tutorial | The Veiled Purl

  6. Pingback: Crochet Puff Hat! | The Veiled Purl

Leave a Reply

