The Veiled Purl

All about crocheting, sewing, and knitting.

So that’s a mullet skirt!?

4 Comments

“The secret of getting ahead is getting started. The secret of getting started is breaking your complex overwhelming tasks into small manageable tasks, and then starting on the first one.”

– Mark Twain

IMG_20130409_133042_240IMG_20130409_133720_529

I was a bit hesitant to make this skirt since I’d never stitched one before. So my first time making a mullet skirt was a bit… overwhelming. The circle skirt was easy enough to do, but the hemming was h-a-r-d, hard to do. Hence, my adding the cutesy ruffles. Hey, don’t you know, ruffles make the world go round! ;)

Any-who, I broke up the outfit into a few parts to lesson the overwhelmingness. (yes, I’ve just invented a new word) Also, instead of just making a mullet skirt, I made a mullet dress for my niece. & let me tell you, she adores this outfit. She keeps running around in it and flouncing about.

Here are some more pictures:

IMG_20130409_133429_503  I have a semi-tutorial ready, so I might just put it up. Maybe. Let me know if any of you are interested.IMG_20130409_133147_379

Have a great day everyone! :)

Author: Veiled Purl

I love to crochet, sew, and knit! =]

4 thoughts on “So that’s a mullet skirt!?

  1. Lovely dress! Didn’t you put up the tutorial for this yet?

    • Thanks. Nope, didn’t get the chance to…I’m not sure if I have the tutorial for this anymore. I may have to make a new one.

      • Aww…maybe you can just send me a rough guide or tips…something like that?

      • Basically the top is similar to the one I did for the summer lovin’ dress. The skirt portion is a full circle skirt. Then to make it a high-low aka mullet skirt, you cut the front portion of the circle skirt a bit deeper than the back portion. Then you sew both the top and bottom pieces together and you get your dress. Instead of hemming the skirt, I ruffled a 2 inch piece of fabric and attached it to the hem. Hopefully that made some sort of sense.

Leave a Reply

